Genève | Ginevra | Ginebra

Information touristique de Genève et guide de voyage

Genève Suisse

prenotazioni Hotel Bienvenue à Genève! Située sur les berges du lac de Genève au pied des Alpes, Genève est indéniablement l’une des plus belles villes d’Europe. Elle abrite le siège européen des Nations-Unies, et possède un long passé de diversité et de tolérance qui remonte au temps de la réforme protestante. Aujourd’hui, la ville de Genève est un centre culturel unique, proposant des divertissements de qualité, des restaurants prestigieux et offrant d’innombrables possibilités pour se détendre, et pratiquer différents sports et loisirs.

Tourisme Genève

Tourisme Genève, SuisseLe monument le plus connu de Genève est son Jet d’eau, qui est le plus haut du monde, et offre un point de repère à celui qui explore la ville. La vieille ville de Genève offre un aperçu vivant de son brillant passé, tandis que plus de trente musées et galeries d’art vous feront découvrir l’histoire captivante et vibrante de la ville, parmi lesquels le musée d’art moderne et contemporain (MAMCO) et le musée international de la Croix Rouge.

Pour les amoureux de la détente nous conseillons une croisière sur le lac, ou une promenade à travers les parcs, oasis de verdure que l’on trouve sur ses rives.

Vous ne devez pas manquer de visiter la fameuse rue du Marché pour acheter une montre suisse ou faire du shopping.

Quels que soient vos envies, Genève propose une grande variété d’hôtels et auberges de jeunesse au service irréprochable et situés près des attractions principales de la ville.

Autour de Genève

Genève est le point de départ idéal pour partir à la découverte de ses environs. Il y en a pour tous les goûts : vous aimez faire du bateau et du canoë, de la marche, du vélo, du ski, ou vous préférez la dégustation de vin? Genève vous offre tout cela et bien plus encore : des voyages organisés dans les villes voisines de Montreux, Chamonix et Lausanne, parmi les plus populaires, sont à votre disposition.

Les 10 attractions de Genève à ne pas manquer

Le lac – Vous pouvez flâner le long du lac, et vous imprégner de l’atmosphère du lieu. Piquez une tête aux Bains de Pâquis ou détendez-vous dans l’un des nombreux cafés le long des berges ou dans le parc. Pour voir la ville de manière originale, effectuez une croisière d’une ou deux heures sur un bateau, un vrai bonheur !

La vieille ville – Arrêtez-vous tout d’abord dans la cathédrale Saint-Pierre, puis promenez-vous dans le dédale des petites rues pavées et découvrez vous-même les secrets de Genève. Le musée d’Art et d’Histoire vous donnera une perspective historique de la ville, ainsi que la Maison Tavel – la plus ancienne maison de la ville. Et bien sûr, prenez le temps d’explorer les étonnantes boutiques d’antiquaires , qu ‘on trouve dans toute la vieille ville..

Le bâtiment des Nations unies et le Musée de la Croix-Rouge – Vous pouvez aller vous balader près des quartiers des Nations Unies, en visitant ensuite le superbe musée de la Croix-Rouge de l’autre côté de la rue.

Carouge – En passant la rivière de l’Arve , vous allez trouver le quartier bohême de Carouge, qui ressemble beaucoup au vieux Nice, truffé de boutiques originales où l’on peut voir les artisans à l’ouvrage dans leurs ateliers. Les nombreux cafés artys sont très sympathiques, et la nuit vous pourrez faire la fête dans les clubs de jazz du quartier.

Parc du bastion et la Place Neuve – Profitez d’un autre parc fort agréable, vous pourrez regarder le célèbre Mur des Réformateurs du côté est, le long des anciens remparts de la ville. Vous trouverez également un jeu d’échecs grandeur nature, et un café juste avant de rejoindre les grilles vous menant à la Place Neuve, où vous trouverez le plus ancien et le plus beau hall d’exposition de tout Genève.

Lèche-vitrines dans la Rue de Rive et la Rue du Rhône – Vous trouverez dans ces deux rues extrvagantes une mode originale et des créations de bijoux uniques, mais attention aux prix ! Après votre scéance de shoping, profitez des cafés de la Place du Molard ou de la place de la Fusterie et admirez les passants.

Pâquis et Les Grottes – Pour explorer les quartiers les plus cosmopolites de Genève il vous faudra aller au nord-est de la Gare Cornavin. Vous y trouverez nombre de restaurants ethniques, et de nombreuses boutiques. Le bâtiment des Schtroumpfs, au 23-29 Rue Louis-Favre dans le quartier des Grottes est une construction architecturale incroyable et indéfinissable.

Marché aux puces de Plainpalais – Retrouvez les Genevois dans le grand marché aux puces en plein air ouvert les mardis, vendredis et dimanches de 08:00 à 17:00 qu’il pleuve ou qu’il vente. Bibelots, disques, fripes et autres curiosités vous attendent, n’hésitez pas à marchander!

Le Salève – Escaladez la montagne adossée à, la ville, vous aurez la chance de voir la ville des hauteurs, un panorama à vous couper le souffle! Vous apercevrez les Alpes environnantes, et la ville en contre-bas. De nombreux chemins balisés offrent des randonnées appréciables.

Sortir – profitez des excursions en vélo ou en bateau sur le site du lac de Genève, ou prenez un bus d excursion à la gare routière pour visiter la fameuse capitale suisse.

Translate:

© 2004-2014 Geneva.info - Geneva hotels, independent tourist information, travel guide
About us - Links - Sitemap

Back To Top

Genève | Ginevra | Ginebra

Geneva tourist information and travel guide

Geneva, Switzerland

Bienvenue à Genève! Welcome to Geneva! Situated along the banks of Lake Geneva at the foot of the Alps, Geneva sparkles as one of Europe's most beautiful cities. Home to the European headquarters of the United Nations, Geneva has a long history of diversity and tolerance dating back to the Protestant Reformation. Today, the city of Geneva is a cultural center second to none featuring world class entertainment, top rated restaurants and unlimited opportunities for recreation.

Geneva Tourism

Geneva's most famous monument, Jet d'Eau, is the world's tallest water fountain and provides a constant landmark for exploring the city. Geneva's ancient Old Town offers a living glimpse of the past while Geneva's more than thirty museums and art galleries capture the rich and vibrant history of the city including the International Red Cross and Red Crescent Museum and the Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art (MAMCO). For a change of pace take a cruise on the lake or relax in one of Geneva's main waterfront parks.

As well, be sure to check out Geneva’s famed Market Street to buy a Swiss watch or just window shop. Whatever your interest, Geneva has a wide range of hotel options to accommodate your stay offering renowned service and easy access to the city’s major sites.

Around Geneva, Switzerland

Geneva is the perfect home base for exploring the surrounding countryside. Whether you enjoy boating, hiking, biking, wine tasting or are looking for the ultimate Switzerland ski vacation, Geneva offers easy access to paradise as well as numerous organized tours. Day trips to the nearby towns of Montreux, Chamonix and Lausanne are also popular.


Geneva walking tour

This comprehensive walking tour begins on the shores of Lake Leman along Geneva's right bank with stunning views of the Alps beyond and the towering Jet d'Eau – the world's tallest fountain. The tour continues along Geneva's park-like promenades and on across the of the Rhone River into Geneva's ritzy shopping and banking district. After that it's on to Geneva's Old Town, a Gothic maze of cobblestone streets  topped by historic Saint Peter's Cathedral and the Town Hall where the League of Nations and the Red Cross were founded. Finally wander down along the old city walls to Geneva's theater district and center of culture at Place Neuve. We end the tour in beautiful Bastions Park for a glimpse of Reformation Wall containing the effigies of Geneva's founding fathers.


Geneva's Top Ten


The Lake – Stroll the promenades around the lake and soak up the atmosphere. Take a dip at Bains de Paquis or just relax in one of the lakeside parks or cafes. For a unique perspective on the city, take a one or two hour boat cruise around the lake.


The Old Town – Stop into Saint Peter’s Cathedral and then just wander the maze of cobblestone streets and discover Geneva’s secrets for yourself. For more a more historical perspective, head to the Art and History Museum or the Maison Tavel – the oldest house in the city. Make sure to leave some time to check out wonderful antique boutiques located throughout the old town..


The United Nations Building and Red Cross Museum – Take a tour of the European Headquarters of the United Nations followed up by a visit to the Red Cross Museum across the street. Be sure to take note of the many sculptures as you wander the grounds in between including the “Broken Chair” monument to land mine victims at Place des Nations.


Carouge – Hop across the L’Arve River to the Bohemian burg of Carouge modeled after Nice, France and filled with quaint boutiques where you can actually observe the artisans at work in their studios. Relax in one of Carouge’s artsy cafes or hang around until after dark to party in one the neighborhood’s famous jazz clubs.


Bastions Park and Place Neuve – Enjoy the park and be sure to pay reverence to Reformation Wall on the east side along the old city wall. Test your skill at the life size chessboards or relax at the pavilion café before heading out the gates to Place Neuve, home to Geneva’s oldest and most beautiful performance and exhibition halls.


Window Shopping on Rue de Rive and Rue du Rhone – Gawk at the fashions and jewelry lining Geneva’s most extravagant streets, but try not to look at the price tags. Repose at one of the cafés at Place du Molard or Place de la Fusterie for some first class people watching.


Paquis and Les Grottes – Explore Geneva’s most international districts located just north and east of Gare Cornavin. Try one of the area’s many ethnic restaurants and don’t forget the shopping. The Schtrumpfs Building located at 23-29 Rue Louis-Favre in Les Grottes is a fantastical architectural icon that defies description.


Plainpalais Flea Market – Mingle with the locals at Geneva’s largest outdoor flea market open Wednesdays and Sundays from 08:00 to 17:00 rain or shine (even though during rainy days its almost empty). Antiques, records, vintage clothing and other curios await savvy bargain hunters.


The Saleve – Ride the gondola up Geneva’s backyard mountain and enjoy breathtaking views of the surrounding Alps and the city below. Of course if you’re feeling fit, you can hike up along one of the Saleve’s many marked trails.


Get Out – Take a bike or boat ride to any of Lake Geneva’s other lakeside paradises or hop on an excursion bus at Gare Routiere to visit one of Switzerland’s famous mountain towns.

Translate:

Find Your best hotel!

Facts about Geneva:

Population:198 000 (2014)
Currency: 1CHF = 0.82EUR
Airport: Geneva Airport GVA
Hotels: 143 (€29 - €1300)
more >>

Jet d'Eau Fountain

See Landmarks >>
Pictures

Geneva Map

Print | Business

Back To Top